topiaterew.blogg.se

Pre-gibson tobias signature
Pre-gibson tobias signature










pre-gibson tobias signature

Instruments but I think it's just a different instrument. I know Gibson gets a lot of slack for having inferior I went to the Gibson factory when it was in Nashville and saw how they build their new basses.Īs far as I could see they put a lot of time and effort into each bass. In my opinion Gibson should have just gave the bass a different name because it's justĪ totally different animal. The new basses haveĪn altogether different sound. When gospel players think tobias, they want that deep growl and nasty slap tones.

pre-gibson tobias signature

Gibson still uses all of the exotic woods and I've played the new models. I've talked about this with Michael himself and the growl of the pre-gibson basses justĬan't be duplicated with the new electronics. The reason being Gibson with the help of Michael changed the pickups and electronics in these bassesĭuring the handover. Guys the bottom line is Gibson Tobias basses were doomed to fail from the begining. I would be very certain that the bass you will recieve will knock spots off the Gibson made Custom Tobias bass. If you want a quality made instrument designed and produced by Mike Tobias get an MTD. I have yet to see a Gibson made Custom Tobias and I have no idea of the quality. It is from my understanding that Gibson have recently opened a custom shop for Tobias Classic models. For the price I think they are ok and compared to other well known names out there within the same price bracket they are actually good value for money. However, they are considerably cheaper due to being manufactured in the Far East.

pre-gibson tobias signature

Even though the design is more or less the same these basses use lower quality woods, hardware and electronics. Quote from: Andrzej on October 26, 2006, 12:43:57 PM The production line models (Deluxe and Custom) that Gibson have been manufacturing since they bought the company are nowhere near the same quality of the hand-made instruments that Mike Tobias and his team used to produce.












Pre-gibson tobias signature